Religion

Chen and I started talking about his religion and his perspective on it. Chen said ” I am an atheist” ,  I was shocked to hear that because I never had thought of a person being atheist. Then he suddenly replied that ” His mom is Buddhist and his father is atheist. Then my next question was that ” that means you follow your father”. He said “No”, “its just that i don’t like any kind of restrictions and I think religion restricts you.” In his perspective, people are atheist more than religious and this is specifically among the teens and youngsters.

I was going more and more deeply learning religion aspects. He mentioned ” In china, people are Buddhist as well as Christians, however I think that people are influenced by Christian religion and they are becoming Religious, although Buddhism is still the largest organized religion in China.” Asking him about any more religions, he spontaneously responded that “Yeah there is Daoism which is very philosophical rather than a religion but people do perceive it as religion. In English, this term is written as “Taoism.”

Going more deeply about his experience and knowledge about religion he mentioned that ” We have something called heaven worship.” He said ” Many people believe that heaven is their god and therefore they do pray for it.”

He said”  I think religion is as important as ethnicity and some kind of social group. There may be some people who have their own social group and so a different religion.”

Religion in china seemed to be very different from others. Although the interview was very interesting to learn about a lot of different aspects of his country. He is an atheist and he mentioned about the fact many youngsters being atheist too.

Leave a comment